Run. Mix. Burn!

Monday 17 May 2010

India, South Korea Declared Joint Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Champions

Jarang kita dengar...

IPOH, May 16 (Bernama) -- Defending champion India and South Korea were declared joint winners of the 19th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Championship after the final was called off due to heavy downpour.

Both teams played to a scoreless draw until the 12th minute before the match was stopped as the pitch was waterlogged.

The players waited for 45 minutes before the match was finally called off by officials and both teams were declared joint winners.

For India, it was the fifth win for them after lifting the trophy in 2009, 1995, 1991 and 1985 while for South Korea, it was their second victory after 1996.

India's Sardar Singh and South Korea's Nam Hyun Woo were jointly named top scorers with nine goals each to their credit.

Malaysian goalkeeper S. Kumar was named the best gatekeeper while Egypt bagged the fairplay title.

Australia clinched the third place after beating Malaysia 5-3 while Pakistan had to content with the fifth place after edging China 6-5 in a penalty shootout after they played to a 1-1 draw during regulation time.


Labels: , ,

Did You Enjoy this Post? Subscribe to Run.Mix.Burn!

Post a Comment

<< Home